Credits: African American Writers Trail

Tour Development: Jill Dwiggins


Lucy Terry Prince Portrait: Louise Minks

Lucy Terry Prince House: Historic Deerfield

Frederick Douglass House: The National Park Service

William Trotter: The University of Michigan, William Trotter Multicultural Center

Josephine Ruffin: UNC-Chapel Hill, Documenting the American South

Pauline Hopkins: Pauline Hopkins Society

David Walker Marker: BOAF, National Park Service

Philis Wheatley Statue: Sharon Mollerus

Du Bois Portrait: Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division

Sojourner Truth: Lynne Graves

Malcolm X Parker House: Darryl Kenyon

James Baldwin: Allan Warren

Dorothy West: Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard University

If we have failed to credit your image, please contact

Learn more about Fair Use copyright allowances and limitations here.